All Articles
All Articles
CULTURE
The Synchronicity Project
by Ami Kealoha
on 28 December 2007
synchronicitypeoject0.jpg

by Jens Jensen

Since 2005 Japanese art director Jun Tsuzuki has been running a project he calls Synchronicity. Remarkably simple, yet fascinating and intriguing, Jun asks people all over the world to take a picture of what they are doing at a pre-determined moment in time. These pictures, along with a brief explanation of the time and place they are taken, are then displayed on the Synchronicity website as a portrait of the world at that exact moment.

These moments are special moments in history (the exact second of the first impact on the World Trade Center, 9/11) or mathematically pleasing moments (11:11:11:11:11 for the 11th of November at 11 AM 11 minutes and 11 seconds).

synchronicityproject1.jpg
synchronicityproject2.jpg

To guarantee the pictures are taken at the exact same time, the participants are asked to synchronize their local time with the given GMT time.

synchronicityproject.jpg

The next moment marks Synchronicity's third annual celebration of the New Year, occurring at 1 January 2008, 0:00:00 GMT. (That's 31 December 2007, 7:00:00PM New York; 31 December 2007, 4:00:00PM Los Angeles; 1 January 2007, 3:00:00AM Moscow; 1 January 2008, 8:00:00AM Tokyo). Calculate your local time here.

Pictures from the last moment from Devon, England and Tokyo.

Load More...